Soft ‘n’ Smokey

IMG_3897So I did this Soft ‘n Smokey eye look yesterday and just got my computer back so I can upload – yay!

I had a request from SunlightBeauty to do a look using the Sleek Au Naturel Palette I reviewed a few posts ago and this was the result! I have done a few natural day-time looks so wanted to do something a bit heavier – these were the products I used …

IMG_3917

I also got a comment from Eleobel asking to see which brushes I used so I have added some pictures and descriptions too! Hope this helps and I am always up for receiving some feedback and suggestions!

I started with my eyes as I find it’s easier to clean up any dark fallout before putting foundation on. I primed my eyelids with Painterly by MAC which is the same colour as my skin tone. I then blended Tough as Taupe Colour Tattoo by Maybelline all over my lid but not beyond the crease as a base for my powder shadows. I find that because Tough as Taupe is matte, it can be a bit tough to blend and using Painterly underneath really helps this.

IMG_3919

I then took Naked2 from the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette and, using a fluffy brush, blended this into and above my crease to create a transition colour and the inner third of my eye. Turning to my Sleek palette I took the colour Regal (which has a real cranberry undertone that the camera does not capture!) and used my Elf defining brush to blend this colour from the outer corner until it met the Naked2 which I put on the inner corner. Take your time with this bit to build up the colour and blend out to create a really smokey look. I then took Conker on my Elf contour brush and worked this into and above my crease, darkening the very outer V of my eye. Using a clean Elf blending brush I neatened up any hard edges and blended the whole look together.

I lined my waterline and tight line using the BarryM eyeliner brush and MAC’s Blacktrack and then applied a thin winged liner to my top lash line using Benefit’s Black Magic. Coat both top and bottom lashes with Benefit’s They’re Real for lots of length and volume. I filled my eyebrows in with a small angled brush and Benefit’s Browzings in Light.

For my face I used my favourite primer and foundation (Maybelline Baby Skin and L’Oreal Magic Lumi) and then applied L‘Oreal’s Magic Lumi concealer pen – a new addition! – and set using Bobbi Brown powder brush and MAC’s MSF in Medium. For blush I used my Bobbi Brown blush brush and swept L’Oreal Sandlewood Pink across my cheekbones and temples and then contoured using a large angled brush and Benefit’s Hoola.

I finished off the look with a sheer peach lip crayon from Maxfactor in Subtle Coral! and this was the finished look! … Scary naked face before and smokey after …

IMG_3898

Thank you so much to SunlightBeauty and Eleobel for your inspiration and feedback! I Had great fun making this look and do listen to all your comments to try and improve my posts! What would you like to see next?

3

18 thoughts on “Soft ‘n’ Smokey

  1. I can’t believe you did a post on your brushes so quickly! Thank you so much! The way your store your brushes is super pretty. I really loved the description, where you said what brushes and products you used. This look is so gorgeous on you. I can’t wait to try to copy it – thanks to your lovely tutorial. Thanks for linking back to me too. That was super nice! I was looking at your instagram pics and they are amazing. I look forward to seeing more from you. Thanks again! Loved this post! 🙂

    • Thank youuu! I picked up the mason/jam jars at a homeward store and the middle bit of the lid comes out – perfect for brushes! Let me know what else you would like to see me post – I loved doing this and having some inspiration! Can be tough coming up with new ideas all the time :p xx

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Makeup | Painted Pretty

Come chat with me ...