Valentine’s Makeup

After posting about my new Urban Decay Naked palettes, Victoria from Rainbows & Polkadots suggested that I do a look using the Naked3 palette. Seeing as Valentine’s Day is just a few days away and then Naked3 has so many beautiful romantic pink colours in, I decided it would be perfect to do a tutorial on this theme!

IMG_4008

I’m still struggling to find good lighting in my house which will show up the makeup well when photographed .. grr! This is a really simple taupe-pink look using mostly matte shades, with a splash of shimmer in the centre.

I started by priming my eye’s with Maybelline’s Perminant Taupe Colour Tattoo, blending all over the lid of my eye but not beyond the crease. I then took Limit on a large fluffy brush and blended this into and above my crease as a transition colour. Using a slightly smaller fluffy brush I then blended Nooner just into my crease to start creating a smokey effect. On a flat eyeshadow brush I packed Buzz all over my lid (on top of the taupe primer), concentrating the colour in the middle of the lid. Using a small pencil brush I darkened the outer V oof my eye with Blackheart, taking my time to blend  and build the colour. I then sprayed some MAC Fix+ on my flat brush, dipping it in Buzz and touching up the centre of my lid and blending underneath my lower lash-line. To soften any hard edges I went back in with Limit on my fluffy brush and blended the edges. I used Strange to highlight my tear duct and brow bone.

strangeI used a MAC’s gel liner in Blacktrack to create a thin and slightly smudgy eyeliner look along my top lashes, lining my tight-line and water-line too. Standard lashing of Benefit’s They’re Real and filling in my eyebrows with Browzings finishes this eye look.

For my face I use my favourite foundation and concealer duo from the L’Oreal Magic Lumi range, Bourjois blush in Rose and Hoola bronzer. For my lips I used this fabulous pinky-brown shade called Brown Sugar by Laura Mercier. If you want to see any of the products I’ve mentioned then just check out my other tutorials where there are lots of pictures and info about the brushes I use …  this is just focussing on the Naked3 Palette 🙂

IMG_4003I really hope you like this look! Again, I am really sorry about the lighting and it not showing the makeup very well 😦 But give this look a go and you will see that it is beautifully soft and romantic – fading from pink to taupe for a smokey but not over-the-top look. Perfect for a romantic date night 😉

7 thoughts on “Valentine’s Makeup

  1. hi this is a lovely post and look! thank you for my little shout out 🙂 just reblogged you to my followers! xxx

Come chat with me ...

