GLOSSYBOX : February

WOW I am so outrageously behind on my blogging! I got this box mid-Feb and it’s now March 1st! Fear not – lots of posts on the way, catching up with London Fashion Weekend, my February Faves and lots more!

Glossybox treated us with this ultra pretty Valentines box this February with kisses all over! After being a bit underwhelmed last month I was hoping this month would be better … and it certainly was! Not only did I receive four full sized products and one large sample, but a Lint chocolate bar too! The chocolate was practically inhaled within seconds of unwrapping and was, true to Lint form, divine! Here is the rest of the box …

photoMaybelline Master Kajal Khôl Liner in Pitch Black – 
I was quite excited when I saw this product as I am not a big kohl eyeliner girl so thought it would be neat to try something different out. This eyeliner is advertised as a ‘no sharpener needed’ pencil as you are supposed to use the whole length of the liner to line your eyes to get a dramatic arabic looking eye. Herein lies my first issue with this product – the colour just doesn’t transfer down the whole of the product and even using the recommended sideways sawing action there is minimal colour pay-off and almost impossible to get a neat and even line. When I checked the wonderful world of Youtube for some help every person was just using it as a traditional kohl, using the point only, which is fine but as you cannot sharpen this product you will eventually end up with a fat nub on product. Overall I wasn’t super impressed with this as an eyeliner but will probably use it to line my tight-line and waterline, to smoke out an eye look or as a shadow base.
~ Retails for £5.99

Ciaté Paint Pot Nail Polish in Red Hot Chili – 
First off the packaging for this is just too cute – I love the little bow on the front and I love how big the polish is. This is a really interesting orange-red and is nothing like anything else in my nail polish collection. This is the first Ciaté nail polish I have owned and I must say lives up to its reputation as a good brand – went on easily and dries pretty quickly (great if you are impatient like me!) One coat does the job unless you want a super opaque look then two will get you a nice deep glossy colour. Really pleased and would buy more of this brand!
~ Retails for £9.00

Miners Cosmetics Cocktail Kiss Lipgloss in Manhattan –  
I feel I may be being a bit mean with my rating for this product but I just don’t like lipgloss. This one pretty much has everything that I don’t like about them all in one: sticky, sparkly, sweet smelling and stodgy. Really not my cup of tea but something I will pass on to my little sister.
Retails for £2.99

Nougat London Sparkling Body Shimmer in Cherry Blossom – 
When I saw this in my box I was kind of disappointed as although it is a super generous sized sample (100ml), I associate body shimmer with my 1990’s ten-year-old self and not something I would buy today. Wow, what an error! I love this product! Forget chunky glittery pieces and sticky lotions, this product glides on, dries instantly and leaves the most gorgeous subtle sheen to the skin. Perfect for that added glow on a night out or in the summer and has a very soft floral smell which is not overpowering. Really looking forward to some sun so I can get some skin out and use this wonderful product!
Retails for £14.00 (full size 250ml)

Toni & Guy Hair Meet Wardrobe Stick It Up Gum – 
… And finally … I don’t tend to use these kinds of products in my hair as it is very long and I always thought gums, gels, waxes etc were for short or layered hair. This however, seems to be a pretty versatile product which Glossybox suggests you can ‘work from root to tip for shine, smooth into a ponytail or work into the roots for volume’. It is not waxy or too sticky and feels quite light between my fingers. I think this will be great for smoothing down all my flyaways and styling updos! Really happy as this is definitely not something I would have bought myself.
Retails for £7.20

I hope you have enjoyed my little reviews – sorry that they are soooo late but I’m back on track now! What do you think of these products? Have you tried any out?

 

4 thoughts on “GLOSSYBOX : February

Come chat with me ...

